Heritage of Nepal listed in world heritage

Jankari Nepal – Top 10 World Heritage Sites in Nepal || UNESCO World Heritage Sites.

World Heritage Sites (Cultural)

1. Kathmandu Durbar Square

This is an ancient royal courtyard which lies in the heart of the capital city, Kathmandu. Another name for Kathmandu Durbar Square is Hanuman Dhoka Palace.

2. Bhaktapur Durbar Square

The Bhaktapur Durbar square, also known as Bhadgaon, is a unique city located 13 km east of Kathmandu.

3. Patan Durbar Square

The Patan Durbar Square is situated only 8 km south-east of Kathmandu city. This city is one of the oldest cities in Kathmandu valley. The city was founded in the 3rd century. It is an open museum of the finest Newari craftsmanship. The Hindu and Buddhist monuments are scattered around this ancient royal courtyard.

4. Swayambhunath

Syayambhunath Stupa is believed to be around 2500 years old and because of this, it is considered probably one of the oldest monuments making its name on the list. The structure represents the four elements of earth, fire, wind, and water.

5. Pashupatinath

The Pashupatinath Temple is considered one of the holiest places for the Hindus. It is located 6 km east of Kathmandu. The structure is a two-story building and is built in pagoda style.

6. Boudhanath

This Baudhanath Stupa is one of the oldest and biggest monuments enlisted in the UNESCO world heritage sites. The structure was built around the 5th century A.D. It is a 36 m high unique three-level mandala style structure.

7. Changu Narayan Temple

The ancient Hindu temple of Changu Narayan is located on a high hilltop that is also known as Changu or Dolagiri. This historic structure was built around the 3rd century A.D.

8. Lumbini

Lumbini is the birthplace of Lord Gautam Buddha was enlisted as a UNESCO World Heritage sites in 1997. This is one of the holiest places for Buddhist pilgrimages

9. Chitwan National Park

The Chitwan National Park was formerly known as the Royal Chitwan National Park. It is the first national park in Nepal and was established in the year 1973. It was granted the status of World Heritage site in 1984.

10. Sagarmatha National Park

The Sagarmatha National Park is yet another park of Nepal which has made to the UNESCO World Heritage Sites. This was established in the year 1976. This is a protected area in the Himalayas of eastern Nepal and the most noteworthy is Mount Everest which falls in this park.